The untold story of Dr.Bhupen Hazarika


Bhupen Hazarika ) (1926–2011) was an Indian lyricist, musician, singer, poet and film-maker from Assam. His songs, written and sung mainly in the Assamese language by himself, are marked by humanity and universal brotherhood and have been translated and sung in many languages, most notably in Bengali and Hindi.

He is also acknowledged to have introduced the culture and folk music of Assam and Northeast India to Hindi cinema at the national level.Award for the Best Feature Film in Assamese (Chameli Memsaab; music by Bhupen Hazarika) in the 23rd National Film Awards(1975)

Gold medal from the State Government of Arunachal Pradesh for “outstanding contribution towards tribal welfare, and uplift of tribal culture through cinema and music.” (1979)[

All India Critic Association Award for best performing folk artist (1979)

In 1979 and 1980 he won the Ritwik Ghatak Award as best music director for two theatre plays, Mohua Sundari, and Nagini Kanyar Kahini

Bengal Journalist’s Association Indira Gandhi Smriti Puraskar in (1987)

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (1987)

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (1987)

Dadasaheb Phalke Award (1992)

First Indian to win Best Music for the film Rudaali at the Asia Pacific International Film Festival in Japan (1993)

Padma Bhushan – the third highest civilian award in the Republic of India (2001)

Honorary Degree from Tezpur University (2001)

10th Kalakar Award for Lifetime Achievement in the year 2002, Kolkata.

Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship (2008)

Asom Ratna – the highest civilian award in the State of Assam, India (2009)

In February 2009, the All Assam Students Union erected a life size statue of Hazarika on the banks of Digholi Pukhuri in Guwahati.

Muktijoddha Padak – the highest civilian award by Bangladesh Government (posthumously, 2011)

Asom Sahitya Sabha has honoured him with the title “Biswa Ratna”.
Padma Vibhushan – second highest civilian award in the Republic of India (2012)

A postage stamp, bearing his face, was released by India Post to honour him on 3 May 2013.





Comment Your Thoughts