Death Toll Reaches 22 in Assam Floods, CM Sends Eight Ministers To Flood Zones.


The flood situation in Assam has been worsening with every passing day. With report of three more deaths, the death toll of this year’s flood had reached 22 across the state on Friday.

The current floods have affected 49 revenue circles and 993 revenue villages covering 17 districts and affected more than 4,25,000 people in Lakhimpur, Jorhat, Golaghat, Cachar, Dhemaji, Biswanath, Karimganj, Sonitpur, Majuli, Barpeta, Nagaon, Nalbari, Sivasagar and Morigaon where the government has opened 84 relief camps for 22,641 inmates.

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal reviewed the flood situation with his Cabinet ministers and directed eight of them to immediately rush to the affected areas and step up relief and rescue operations ensuring proper facilities for flood affected and relief camp inmates.

The Chief Minister directed the ministers to assess the damage caused by the floods and erosion, interact with the affected people and take stock of their needs and grievances. He also referred to the difficulties faced by the people due to potholes on the roads and directed the PWD minister to complete repairs of all roads in the state by this month end.

In addition, Sonowal instructed Water Resources Minister Keshav Mahanta to take necessary steps, including ensuring availability of anti-erosion material for prompt action at affected sites. He also asked Mahanta to procure dredgers for excavation of river beds apart from preparing a plan to check erosion by adopting the latest technology.

While the Water Resouces Minister Keshav Mahanta was directed to visit Nagaon, Morigaon and Hojai; Agriculture Minister Atul Bora was instructed to visit Sivasagar, Golaghat and Jorhat. Environment and Forest Minister Pramila Rani Brahma will go to South Salmara and Goalpara. Public Works Department Minister Parimal Suklabaidya was asked to visit all districts of Barak valley. Irrigation Minister Ranjit Dutta and Cultural Affairs Minister Naba Kumar Doley will visit Dhemaji, Lakhimpur, Sonitpur, Biswanath and Majuli. Public Health Engineering Minister Rihon Daimari and Revenue Minister Pallab Lochan Das will visit all the districts of lower Assam.

Comment Your Thoughts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here